New Planning Commissioners Appointed to the City of Rancho Cucamonga Historic Preservation and Planning Commission

Rancho Cucamonga, CA – On Wednesday, September 18, 2019 the City of Rancho Cucamonga’s City Council held interviews to fill three upcoming vacancies on the Historic Preservation and Planning Commission. Two terms are set to expire in December 2019 and the third is due to a resignation effective October 31, 2019, with two years remaining of the term.

After the conclusion of the interviews and City Council discussion, Mayor Dennis L. Michael nominated, and City Council Members agreed unanimously to appoint Diane Williams and Bryan Dopp to fill the two 4-year terms through December 2023. Tony Morales was nominated and appointed to fill the unscheduled vacancy with a two-year term, due to the resignation of Commissioner Lou Munoz.

Diane Williams, former Council Member, will be the seventh woman to be appointed to the Planning Commission since the City was incorporated in 1977. Previous female Planning Commissioners included Laura Jones, Wendy Vallette, Suzanne Chitea, Christine McPhail, Pam Stewart, and Frances Howdyshell. Bryan Dopp is currently serving on the Commission and was reappointed to serve another term.

Eleven candidates in total were interviewed, three were appointed, and Adrianna Bluhm and Natalie Navarrette were placed on the Planning Commissioner candidate eligibility list.